Skip to main content
Cost centers can be used to tag expenses while creating a Purchase Order. An approval workflow can be triggered based on the Cost Center selected, using Purchase Order Approval Workflow. You can also set up a separate Invoices Approval Workflow.
Watch Out!
  • Only 1 Cost Center can be linked to a Purchase Order or Invoice.
  • Only the owner or admin can create a Cost Center.

Create a Cost Center

To create a cost center:
1

Log in to the [RazorpayX Dashboard](http://x.razorpay.com/auth).

Log in to the RazorpayX Dashboard.
2

Navigate to **Cost Centers** and click **+ Cost Center**.

Navigate to Cost Centers and click + Cost Center.
3

Enter a unique **Name** and **Description** of the cost center and...

Enter a unique Name and Description of the cost center and click Create.
Your cost center is created and ready to use. You can view the Name, Description and by whom the cost center was Created By on the Cost Center Dashboard.

Edit a Cost Center

To edit a cost center:
1

Log in to the [RazorpayX Dashboard](http://x.razorpay.com/auth).

Log in to the RazorpayX Dashboard.
2

Navigate to **Cost Centers** and hover over the cost center you wan...

Navigate to Cost Centers and hover over the cost center you want to edit.
3

Click on the pencil icon that appears.

Click on the pencil icon that appears.
4

You can enter **New name** or **New description** and click **Save...

You can enter New name or New description and click Save Changes.
5

Review and click **Confirm** and your changes are saved.

Review and click Confirm and your changes are saved.

Deactivate a Cost Center

You can deactivate a cost center if you do not want to tag any purchase order or invoice to it anymore. To deactivate a cost center:
1

Log in to the [RazorpayX Dashboard](http://x.razorpay.com/auth).

Log in to the RazorpayX Dashboard.
2

Navigate to **Cost Centers** and hover over the cost center you wan...

Navigate to Cost Centers and hover over the cost center you want to deactivate.
3

Click on the trash bin icon that appears.

Click on the trash bin icon that appears.
4

Click **Deactivate** to confirm your action.

Click Deactivate to confirm your action.
5

Review and click **Got it**. Your cost center is deactivated.

Review and click Got it. Your cost center is deactivated.
The cost center continues to appear on the list as deactivated. This action cannot be reversed.